Welcome to Ugfacts.net. On this page you will find details on the following topics

Admission Lists for 2021-2022 Admissions and Intakes 2021-2022 Latest Jobs in Uganda 2021-2022
HESFB Loans UNEB Results and Past Papers Scholarships for 2021-2022
UBTEB Internships

Your Opinions and Questions Matter. Kindly leave your comments below and we shall attend to you promptly.

Uganda Districts

Uganda Districts

Uganda Districts

Uganda is divided into 111 districts and one city (the capital city of Kampala), which are grouped into four administrative regions. Most districts are named after their main commercial and administrative towns, known as ‘chief towns’. Since 2005, the Ugandan government has been in the process of dividing districts into smaller units, with the most recent change in August 2010. This decentralization is intended to prevent resources from being distributed primarily to chief towns and leaving the remainder of each district neglected.

Each district is further divided into counties and municipalities, and each county is further divided into sub-counties. The head elected official in a district is the chairperson of the Local Council five (usually written with a Roman numeral V).

Below are population figures from the 2002 census. County and sub-county data was used to determine figures for the districts created or altered since this census, when there were only 56 districts. However, some county and sub-county lines may have been altered, leading to slightly inaccurate figures.

A clickable map of Uganda exhibiting its 111 districts and Kampala.
Buikwe District Bukomansimbi District Butambala District Buvuma District Gomba District Kalangala District Kalungu District Kampala District Kayunga District Kiboga District Kyankwanzi District Luweero District Lwengo District Lyantonde District Masaka District Mityana District Mpigi District Mubende District Mukono District Nakaseke District Nakasongola District Rakai District Sembabule District Wakiso District Mpigi District Busia District Bulambuli District Bukwa District Bukedea District Bugiri District Bududa District Budaka District Amuria District Butaleja District Buyende District Iganga District Jinja District Kaberamaido District KaliroDistrict Kamuli District Kapchorwa District Katakwi District Kibuku District Kumi District Kween District Luuka District Manafwa District Mayuge District Mbale District Namayingo District Namutumba District Ngora District Pallisa District Serere District Sironko District Soroti District Tororo District Abim District Adjumani District Agago District Alebtong District Amolatar District Amudat District Amuru District Apac Arua District Dokolo District Gulu District Kaabong District Kitgum District Koboko District Kole District Kotido District Lamwo District Lira District Maracha District Moroto District Moyo District Nakapiripirit District Napak District Nebbi District Nwoya District Otuke District Oyam District Pader District Yumbe District Zombo District Buhweju District Buliisa District Bundibugyo District Bushenyi District Hoima District Ibanda District Isingiro District Kabale District Kabarole District Kamwenge District Kanungu District Kasese District Kibaale District Kiruhura District Kiryandongo District Kisoro District Kyegegwa District Kyenjojo District Masindi District Mbarara District Mitooma District Ntoroko District Ntungamo District Rubirizi District Rukungiri District Sheema District
Central Region
District pop.
Buikwe 329,858
Bukomansimbi 139,556
Butambala 86,755
Buvuma 42,483
Gomba 133,264
Kalangala 34,766
Kalungu 160,684
Kampala 1,189,142
Kayunga 294,613
Kiboga 108,897
Kyankwanzi 120,575
Luweero 341,317
Lwengo 242,252
Lyantonde 66,039
Masaka 228,170
Mityana 266,108
Mpigi 187,771
Mubende 423,422
Mukono 423,052
Nakaseke 137,278
Nakasongola 127,064
Rakai 404,326
Sembabule 180,045
Wakiso 907,988
Eastern Region
District pop.
Amuria 180,022
Budaka 136,489
Bududa 123,103
Bugiri 237,441
Bukedea 122,433
Bukwa 48,952
Bulambuli 97,273
Busia 225,008
Butaleja 157,489
Buyende 191,266
Iganga 355,473
Jinja 387,573
Kaberamaido 131,650
Kaliro 154,667
Kamuli 361,399
Kapchorwa 74,268
Katakwi 118,928
Kibuku 128,219
Kumi 165,365
Kween 67,171
Luuka 185,526
Manafwa 262,566
Mayuge 324,674
Mbale 332,571
Namayingo 174,954
Namutumba 167,691
Ngora 101,867
Pallisa 255,870
Serere 176,479
Sironko 185,819
Soroti 193,310
Tororo 379,399
Northern Region
District pop.
Abim 51,803
Adjumani 202,290
Agago 184,018
Alebtong 163,047
Amolatar 96,189
Amudat 63,572
Amuru 135,723
Apac 249,656
Arua 559,075
Dokolo 129,385
Gulu 298,527
Kaabong 202,758
Kitgum 167,030
Koboko 129,148
Kole 165,922
Kotido 122,541
Lamwo 115,345
Lira 290,601
Maracha 145,705
Moroto 77,243
Moyo 194,778
Nakapiripirit 90,922
Napak 112,697
Nebbi 266,312
Nwoya 41,010
Otuke 62,018
Oyam 268,415
Pader 142,320
Yumbe 251,784
Zombo 169,048
Western Region
District pop.
Buhweju 82,881
Buliisa 63,363
Bundibugyo 158,909
Bushenyi 205,671
Hoima 343,618
Ibanda 198,635
Isingiro 316,025
Kabale 458,318
Kabarole 356,914
Kamwenge 263,730
Kanungu 204,732
Kasese 523,033
Kibaale 405,882
Kiruhura 212,219
Kiryandongo 187,707
Kisoro 220,312
Kyegegwa 110,925
Kyenjojo 266,246
Masindi 208,420
Mbarara 361,477
Mitooma 160,802
Ntoroko 51,069
Ntungamo 379,987
Rubirizi 101,804
Rukungiri 275,162
Sheema 180,234

Uganda daily monitor
Uganda Dance
Uganda Death rate
Uganda Demographics
Uganda development bank
Uganda Districts

All Ugandan Facts