Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries

Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries

Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries: Commonwealth Scholarships for students from the developing Commonwealth to study in the United Kingdom are funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID).

Approximately 200-230 scholarships are awarded each year and the Commission seeks about three times more nominations than it has places available; therefore, candidates who are nominated are not certain to get a scholarship.

There are no quotas for selections for any individual country or nominator.

Each year, the Commission writes to a number of NGOs and other programme partnerships asking for a specific number of nominations to be sent to it.

Each organisation is responsible for its own selection process.

NGOs and programmes funded by DFID that are invited to nominate candidates for scholarships include:


  • Canon Collins Trust
  • Carnegie Corporation
  • Ford Foundation
  • Wellcome Trust
  • Windle Trust International
  • Certain DFID Research Programme Consortia
  • Certain DelPHE lead institutions in developing Commonwealth countriesScholarship Terms and Conditions & EligibilityApplications are considered according to the following selection criteria:
  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • The quality of the proposal
  • The likely impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country

For more information and application, see: Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries

List of International Scholarships 


Sponsored Links